Skip to content

Tangled up

May 16, 2011

in film.

I’ve been neglectful of everything else, which happens whenever something comes into my life that spurs creativity.

Recently I got two new film cameras.  A medium format Pentax 6×7 and a large format (4×5) Speed Graphic.

A lot is said about film vs. digital.  I like both.
I do feel like they are sometimes two different mediums.
Most of the time I feel like film is much easier ~ there’s very little post-processing to be done.

And now that I can develop my black and white film at home, it’s almost as fast as digital
(meaning I don’t have to wait days to see the results).

So, anyways, I will get back to answering questions and finalizing an action/preset set very soon, I promise!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 3:48 pm

    These are gorgeous!! The 4th photo from the top (profile of the girl on the rocks) is like something out of a dream. VERY nice!!

  2. May 16, 2011 4:10 pm

    I LOVE your film stuff, especially shots of your girls! They are so beautiful! You always capture them so naturally, and boy oh boy do you know how to work a camera! I am the same way too, whenever I get inspired or passionate about something, I forget everything else and envelop myself into creativity, that is, until the next thing comes along!

  3. May 16, 2011 4:49 pm

    your models are so gorgeous, Lauren and love how you capture them. Can’t believe you are developing film at home. Cool!

  4. May 16, 2011 4:56 pm

    oh my…the one on the rocks…it feels like a clip from an old movie from the 40’s like The Enchanted Cottage.

  5. *Olivier permalink
    May 17, 2011 12:21 am

    The best way to demonstrate that film is not dead …
    I’ve planned to go FX someday … Seeing this, I noticed something that almost makes me doubt my choices.

  6. Ken Robinson permalink
    May 17, 2011 3:49 am

    I can’t blame for being neglectful. I am the same way, just ask my wife. These are so very good.

  7. May 17, 2011 7:56 am

    lovely images, the top one for me is the best.

  8. mlkeewa permalink
    May 17, 2011 11:04 am

    I don’t mind waiting, Ive been neglecting everything also by just looking at beautiful inspirational photographs such as yours(I am also partial to the one on the rocks) the problem is I am also neglecting my camera need to pick it up soon specially with soo much inspiration from your photos.

  9. aaryn james permalink
    May 17, 2011 12:44 pm

    Such an inspiration! These have so much emotion…such a Sally Mann feeling to them… pure and real feelings in each image. Thank you so much for sharing!!!

  10. May 17, 2011 4:45 pm

    Blown away by these images ~ filled with nostalgia.

    I agree, there is something to be said about film vs. digital. I have recently fallen in love with film, and I’m finding it extremely hard to pick up my digital camera.

    Excellent work!

  11. kasandra permalink
    May 19, 2011 9:26 am

    always love when you share! it’s such a treat seeing your film work … it’s inspired me to play more with my f100 … it’s just that each shot feels like it has to be a masterpiece, but i know better than that … playing is a good thing 🙂

  12. Rima permalink
    May 23, 2011 8:17 pm

    These portraits are so compelling and beautiful. You have captured intimate moments in each. I can stop and gaze at those eyes . . . . And there’s nothing like film! Just wonderful work. Thank you.

  13. May 24, 2011 8:34 am

    I’m so loving your stunning film work. Keep going.

  14. June 4, 2011 6:55 am

    It’s really fun and educational to follow your work, Lauren. Not to mention inspiring…

  15. June 5, 2011 10:49 am

    I would love to play with a large format camera someday! These are all so gorgeous!

  16. August 27, 2011 3:03 pm

    Stunning images and exciting news about your new cameras, congrats!

Leave a Reply

