Skip to content

Texture-ing

March 6, 2011

Occasionally I like to add a texture layer to my pictures.  It’s pretty easy to do, you just have to create or find a texture to use.  If you search Flickr for “free texture” you’ll find thousands.  Or you can take pictures yourself and create your own (which I do).

Here’s an example of how I do it.

 

Above is the image as shot.

This is the image after I crop and clone out rocks and junk that bug me

 

This is the texture picture I used ~ I opened it up and then dragged it onto the the beach image.

I then set the texture layer to “multiply”

This is how it looked.  I decided it was too dark so I added a curve adjustment layer and pulled
it up in the middle to lighten the whole picture.  I also added a gradient map adjustment layer
at 27% opacity to desaturate it a bit.

And this is my final product.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. sheila L. permalink
    March 7, 2011 9:53 am

    thank you for sharing. i just acquired cs3 and was wondering how to apply textures (: i’m glad your back. i’ve missed your blog entries!

  2. March 7, 2011 6:15 pm

    great tutorial…I need to try this once and for all.

  3. March 8, 2011 5:24 am

    Yay. I love when you post. Amazing image and really wonderful tutorial. Thanks so much for sharing.

  4. Ken Robinson permalink
    March 11, 2011 6:55 pm

    Thanks for sharing this bit of knowledge. I think I will try making my own textures and see what happens.

  5. March 15, 2011 5:54 am

    Hi,
    It was simple and the result was sweet.
    waiting for everyday posts Lauren.

    cheers

Leave a Reply

