Skip to content

It’s been a while…

November 9, 2010

Hello world 🙂

Trying to get back into the swing of things.

My photography seems to have ebbs and flows, and I’m just coming out of an ebb.  Things not quite flowing yet, but at least I feel like picking up the camera again.

We took the kids down to the beach, to ride bikes and run around.  Anne saw the mud and went straight for it.

Someone commented on Flickr, something about loving what I do.  And it made me think about it a bit.  I really don’t feel like I do anything.  My kid, dressed in what she wanted to wear, ran out into a giant mudflat near sunset.  And I brought my camera.  I didn’t pose her, didn’t dress her, didn’t give any direction (except I asked her to chase the birds, which she refused to do).

I happen to own a very good camera (I do think it matters) and some very good lenses (which also matters) and I have cute kids (if I do say so myself).  I know how to use my camera and how to compose a shot.   But really, there’s not a lot of thought or planning that goes into it on my end.  I think my kids deserve the credit for the pictures I take.

Sure, some days I have an idea in mind and I work to “create” something.  But 95% of the time, I’m just a quiet observer.  I don’t know if I should call it luck, or what, but most days I feel very blessed.

I also don’t mind a little mud in the car 🙂

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 9:00 am

    I love what you do. It’s not how you do it compared to anyone else. It’s just how you do it.
    And the fact that you’re not even trying in a sense…..that’s EXACTLY where the magic is for me. YOU have made me want to have children someday just so I can be like you. A mom with gorgeous kids and brilliant skills. Who needs anything else??

  2. Ingrid permalink
    November 9, 2010 9:04 am

    Seeing your latest post brought a smile to my face. It’s nice to see you back and the images of Anne are beautiful. I think you do do something big..you observe, you capture and you tell a story. It’s so easy to miss that..even with the best darn camera.

  3. *Olivier permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:14 am

    I agree with Ingrid … This just brings a (big) smile, but something full of respect, be sure …

    I mean, once again i’ve learned something great about the way you’re shooting, (not to say the way i’d like to do it myself…). So, i just think that the “secret” could be the detachment that you discribed. Many of us just want to think of the result while shooting, and you do not… It could explain a lot, maybe.

    Further, the way you’re writing it just let me guess that there is a lot of things i have to learn, still in that particular case. (Seriously … lol!)

  4. berta ... permalink
    November 9, 2010 11:36 am

    Thank you for observing, shooting and sharing, Lauren.
    I enjoy every moment of it …

  5. Jacqui permalink
    November 9, 2010 1:19 pm

    Your children are undoubtably beautiful but don’t underestimate your skill in recording their beauty so naturally & so perfectly. The best pictures are, in my opinion, undirected & keep it real , but it’s you that picks the perfect moment to capture what unfolds before you & always in the perfect light ! This is not a skill that everyone possesses, have a look at a few other flickr streams & you’ll see !! I’ve always found your pictures a huge inspiration, & yes, I too ‘love what you do’ ! Look back at your pictures & see how importrant they are to you…what you would’ve missed if you hadn’t picked up the camera & keep on picking it up because they’re importrant to us too ! 🙂

  6. November 9, 2010 2:02 pm

    Beautifully said, Lauren! I especially loved the bit about being a quiet observer – I think a lot of us can relate to that feeling – but I think you’re downplaying yourself just a tad. Even if you attribute most of your success to other forces, like your bangin’ camera or utterly adorable kids, it still takes your loving eyes to see that there’s a photo there, and your patience to follow through with the shot, editing, etc. Most parents would feel content to snap a photo with a Canon Powershot and call it a day. The very fact that you feel the need to artfully document these things speaks volumes about your talent and perspective, and I’m so happy you share it with us.

  7. Ken Robinson permalink
    November 9, 2010 7:02 pm

    So glad to see you posting again! You are a natural, I always enjoy your images…..

  8. Mick permalink
    November 9, 2010 7:46 pm

    Cheers to “a little mud in the car”, it’s what makes being a parent so rewarding.

  9. Kristy permalink
    November 11, 2010 5:36 am

    So glad to see you back here again. Your posts have really changed my portrait photography for the better. Thank you….you are a natural …which matters a lot more than a nice camera 😉

  10. November 11, 2010 3:13 pm

    It’s also the absolute magic you work in post processing. Subtle, gorgeous improvements to those simple, wonderful shots.

  11. November 18, 2010 1:41 pm

    Yes, your kids are awesome… But your skills amaze me. There’s something very unique about your work. Always stunning.

  12. Jose permalink
    December 9, 2010 8:12 am

    🙂

  13. Jose permalink
    December 9, 2010 8:12 am

    .

  14. d.good permalink
    December 14, 2010 12:49 pm

    being a quiet observer is the best way to shoot….

  15. Ken Robinson permalink
    January 16, 2011 9:02 am

    Really miss your post on here an Flickr. Hope everything is good with you and your family.

  16. aureaphotography permalink
    March 6, 2011 2:50 pm

    YAY! Love you´re back on your blog. I´m a quiet reader. (well, not so quiet now!)
    Thanks fot sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

