Skip to content

…may flowers…

May 5, 2010

Hi everyone!

Sorry for my long absence, just busy with the rest of my life 🙂

I’m putting together ideas for a workshop of some sort ~ I’ll announce anything I come up with on here.

I took a few pictures the other day of some flowers I had in my house (after Anne’s party ~ she had a sort of garden theme) and thought I should mention that they are the perfect subject on which to practice shooting wide open.  Do you want just a petal in focus, or just the edge of a petal?  The whole flower but not the stem?  What if it’s a bouquet ~ what should you focus on?

They are also good for lighting practice ~ most are beautiful with back lighting, and almost all are gorgeous with straight on light.  I took all of these pictures in the late afternoon, in by bathroom.  The frosted window and white walls create a perfect environment for picture taking.

So go buy some flowers (what a great excuse!) and get to work.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 11:59 am

    Beautiful !!! My fave is the first one !! But all are lovely !!
    Have a wonder full day : )

  2. san permalink
    May 5, 2010 12:25 pm

    This are all BEauTIFUL!!! i think only one petal could be interesting!
    just a question, you shot this with automatic focus?? manual focus drives me crazy!!
    thanks!

    San

    • elycerose permalink*
      May 6, 2010 5:30 am

      San ~ these were all auto focus. I really only manual focus with my macro lens.

  3. Miriam permalink
    May 5, 2010 3:26 pm

    Great colors! I would love to learn how to focus on that single petal. On that last photo is that a pattern or a watermark I am seeing?

    • elycerose permalink*
      May 6, 2010 5:32 am

      Miriam ~ that’s actually my bathroom floor. It has hexagon shaped tiles.

  4. *Olivier permalink
    May 5, 2010 11:55 pm

    Beautiful pictures ! And a great introduction (it is … isn’t it ? lol) to a sort of studio session or object shots. It should be interesting to know the way you’re doing these indeed … I mean, even if it’s not all about gear settings something like AF-S or Manual / wide aperture or not / wide angle or not … I bet the first picture was done with the 24mm -, and the other with some longer lenses, but i do not guess which one for 2 and 3 …

    Intersesting post … and as usual, i’d like to read more ! lol.

    • elycerose permalink*
      May 6, 2010 5:31 am

      Olivier ~ these were all shot with the same lens, the 50mm f/1.4. It’s still my favorite 🙂

      • *Olivier permalink
        May 6, 2010 11:54 pm

        Uh ! Always forget the cropping factor … I really need a Fx new gear … ! (But i should wait a bit long time …) lol

  5. May 6, 2010 4:05 am

    I just want to tell you: don’t stop doing your blog. I just love it.
    Mine is in french…sorry

    Go on!

  6. Ingrid permalink
    May 6, 2010 8:17 am

    What better excuse for treating yourself to some flowers?..and a great lesson. These are beautiful by the way. Must have been a wonderful party.

  7. May 6, 2010 8:32 pm

    Beautiful shots, Lauren…good to hear you’re working on workshop material, too.

  8. san permalink
    May 13, 2010 5:27 am

    Hi Lauren!
    I was watching your stream and see this picture:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/laurenrosenbaum/2408433904/in/set-72157604385039049/

    its amazing!!! LOVE IT!!!! can you tell me how did you process it?!?! its awesome!!

    Sandra

  9. October 16, 2010 11:23 am

    I realize that you haven’t posted in a while, but I would absolutely be interested in any workshop that you were offering. Your photos are amazing and I love your blog. I hope that you continue posting!!

Leave a Reply

