Skip to content

Me, teaching you

April 2, 2010

The idea of doing some sort of workshop or something has been kicking around inside my head for a while.  I enjoy teaching I think, much more than I enjoy doing sessions/weddings.

So, if you think that would be a good idea ~ what is it that you would want to learn from me?  What is it that you think I can teach you?  Would it be photography oriented?  Photoshop oriented?  Half and half?  Would you be interested in Cindy and I doing something together?  What would you want to walk away with?

I struggle with the idea of taking advantage of people (selling actions is even a huge issue with me and something I have a hard time with).  I wouldn’t want anyone to leave feeling like it was a waste of their time and/or money.

So tell me what you think.

(I’m considering doing a test session, free of charge ~ getting a group of people together who want to help me craft what to teach.  Would that interest you?)

38 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 10:41 am

    Whatever you have to impart upon us, I would love to be there and be inspired by you! And Cindy too, if she were there!

  2. April 2, 2010 11:04 am

    Well, you can certainly count me in ….I am positively giddy at the notion that there could be a test one for free….weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! Although, to be quite honest I would not shy away from paying for the regular one either.

    I guess as far as the topic/theme for the workshop goes I’d be interested in half/half situation. Having the knowledge to take the most out of the given situation to create great photos (which ever that situation IS, although my biggest interest lays in the high pace kind of sessions – weddings, portrait sessions etc…. where you have limited time yet have to manage to do your best) combined with being able to bring out the absolute best of the best out of the pics in photoshop….well…that would just make me hop around singing hallelujah all day long!

    That’s just my 2 cents worth.
    😀

    I’ll stay tuned in for the news about this. It’s so cool you are considering it (+ Cindy!…double yay!)

  3. Doreen Kilfeather permalink
    April 2, 2010 11:26 am

    Hi Lauren – I recently made the trip from Ireland to California for a workshop – and it was wonderful – come hell or high water – if YOU decided to have one I would make it my business to be there (Please put my name down now!!!).
    In terms of content I believe a mix of both photography and p’shop is good. It would be so insightful to actually watch you shooting and for you to talk us through your thought process re composing, camera settings, lighting etc. Follow this with time spent going through your p’shop techniques.
    I think many workshops waste a lot of time talking around the issues rather than just getting down to the hardcore stuff – the reason we all go!
    Really hope you decide to go ahead with this – in the meantime – thank you so much for this fantastic blog – honestly – you are so generous with your knowledge and skills and its hugely appreciated by this Irish girl! Doreen

  4. April 2, 2010 12:09 pm

    If I lived in San Fran I’d be signing up ASAP but seeing as I am not I have a suggestion for a blog entry:

    Backlighting!

    You seem to work it really well in your portraits and it would be interesting to hear you “how to” on the subject.

  5. *Olivier permalink
    April 2, 2010 1:22 pm

    One would be crazy thinking that it could be a waste of time … I’m teachning some of those photography and photoshop things to my students, there in France, in addition to my graphic design activity … and i’m still learning many things from the way you’re doing about light, composition, gears, post production etc … So, even if I can just think of your project from the outside, i’m sure it could give a real experience to many people.

    I wrote to you a day that you should become a new Kelby ! I wasn’t wrong i mean … lol
    Go on so ! Ideas should come later … it is necessary for me to think of it.

    Have a nice day.

    I could have ideas for you …

  6. aureaphotography permalink
    April 2, 2010 2:21 pm

    wow! you made my day with this post. I´ve been silently following your work for some time, and I love your style, always trying to learn just from seeing what you post.
    So this workshop would be a dream for me. What I´d mostly like to learn from you is lighting, how to manage chldren and photo edition.
    Hope this dream come true!

  7. April 3, 2010 2:19 pm

    You are an amazing photographer. You are already so generous with your knowledge – sharing techniques in your blog and on flicker. I think you would make a wonderful teacher. Some people can be good at something, but not so good at explaining how to do it. You are gifted in both areas.

    I’d be interested in learning how to work well with children. Also, I find your indoor shots to be particularly beautiful because it’s so much more difficult for me to shoot inside. I’d love to learn more about how you shoot those photos. I’d also be interested in more photoshop tips. Your processing is gorgeous and subtle. Your pictures end up being enhanced without looking overdone.

    I’m in Southern California… so I’m not too far away. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you decide to do some workshops!!

  8. erin permalink
    April 3, 2010 9:03 pm

    Hi Lauren,
    I found your blog from flickr. Your photos still grace my walls and really do brighten my days. You should come back up (over?) to Sonoma sometime! 🙂

    I would love, love, love a workshop. Anything, everything. I just love everything about your photos. The happy stuff, the moody stuff, the light. I’m such a fan. I keep meaning to buy your actions now that I FINALLY have photoshop. Basic photoshop/workflow would be awesome too.

    I am bookmarking your blog…
    -erin 🙂

    • elycerose permalink*
      April 3, 2010 10:07 pm

      Hi Erin! So glad to hear from you ~ hope all is going well for you and yes, I need to come back up that way… I don’t think I’ve been there since visiting with you!

  9. Kristy permalink
    April 4, 2010 6:49 am

    Go for it Lauren..I think you are an amazing photographer and you really could share a lot with us, in both photography and Photoshop. You’re work is so inspiring and I’ve already learned so much…please share more..lol 🙂 Cindy is amazing too…I think you both have such great unique styles that a class together would be so much fun!!

  10. Suzanne Puttman permalink
    April 4, 2010 8:13 pm

    I would love to see your point of view behind the camera and in Photoshop. Count me in!!

  11. April 5, 2010 6:14 pm

    Wow, how wonderful! You would make an excellent teacher. I’m particularly interested in learning my way around Photoshop. I’d love to come to the bay area for a workshop!

  12. April 5, 2010 8:48 pm

    I love your work. You really are so talented and generous with your knowledge. Coming from a photographer who is just venturing out in the pro realm, this is so helpful and appreciated. I love any and all post about natural lighting, especially when you’re working with kids. If you end up doing a free test class, please keep me on your list. I’m in So. Cal. and would be very interested!

  13. April 6, 2010 1:15 pm

    half and half could be nice

    🙂 thanks from Spain

  14. carolyn permalink
    April 7, 2010 11:33 am

    i would love to be taught by someone as talented as you.

  15. betsy permalink
    April 7, 2010 5:05 pm

    a workshop would be great! count me in

  16. April 7, 2010 6:22 pm

    awesome idea! personally if i were to describe why you’re awesome to someone who was unfamiliar with your work the words portrait, kids, and simplicity would come to mind. the pictures you take of your girls never cease to amaze me. they are always breathtakingly beautiful, and despite the repetition in subject, your work is never boring or repetitive in itself. i would definitely be interested just to see your whole workflow from shoot right through to the finished product.

  17. April 7, 2010 8:48 pm

    I’d like to know:
    – How far away you stand from your subjects to get that perfect focus & out of focus result (a demonstration of your last post)
    – Your thought process on processing your images this way or that way – as one commenter already said, you process just right and you never over-do it.
    – I wanted to hear from you whether you find a difference between shoots that you take with your own children vs. those that you take w/ your clients. I’ve never done client shots before, so I wanted to know if my lack of intimacy w/ the subject will still allow me to take the kind of pictures that express emotion such as the ones I take with my own family. As a sub-topic to this one – Are there types of client engagements that you like more than others and why?
    – Finally, I wanted to know what motivates YOU to shoot. I know this is not so much to impart knowledge, but I always want to know why photographers shoot. I have an inkling why you shoot, but it’s always wonderful to hear it from you personally.

  18. Lora Kakaletris permalink
    April 8, 2010 10:53 am

    Count me in. I would definitely make the trip from Toronto.

  19. Karen permalink
    April 8, 2010 3:33 pm

    Is it at all possible for you to do some type of online workshop? Or perhaps post parts of your workshop on the blog?
    I am across the continent and wouldn’t be able to attend in person.
    I think a workshop discussing both photography and photoshop would be helpful. I am self-taught in photography and photoshop (and therefore not very good with either) and I have found your blog tutorials to be very educational!

  20. April 11, 2010 2:39 am

    It’s early Sunday morning here and I’ve just read this. I am thrilled at your considering a workshop. I’ve been following you for so long on flickr and have had so many questions. Backlighting, the way you use light in your photographs..the processing you use to enhance your images not create them. Your ability to create a mood with light or without. The technical issues that while we read about are sometimes hard to understand without some guidance. I live on the east coast but would definitely make the trip to attend. I find your images emotional works of art.

  21. April 11, 2010 6:42 am

    Hi Lauren,
    I love your pictures and I like your blog. I’ve read a lot of PS books but the way you explain and show your editing process is so easy to understand and fun to try. I will be more than happy to sign up for your classes if there is a way to attend online ( I live in Chicago). Thank you for your posts.

  22. April 12, 2010 6:31 pm

    A workshop with you would be a dream come true! Photoshop technique would be of interest, but primarily I’d like to see how you make your lenses be the best they can be!

  23. simplesmentelila permalink
    April 13, 2010 3:45 am

    would love it!!!

  24. Diana permalink
    April 13, 2010 2:31 pm

    I couldn’t be there in person, but I love your work, and would pay to even see podcasts of your workshops, even though you can’t really compare it with a hands-on learning experience.
    As for the topic, I agree with Doreen, if you’d do a walk through from composing to editing in photoshop, that would be great!

  25. Jessica permalink
    April 14, 2010 4:11 am

    A while ago, there was a Flickr couple (by the names RosieHardy and Aknacer) who opened up a photoshop class online. It was run by using a special program that they had, and using Skype. On Skype, there is a way to chat in video with the person and other people, with the help of a program (I don’t know the name of it) that allows visually seeing what is being done with Photoshop.

    If it’s not that, I’d really like to know more about how you shoot portraits…such as finding the right opportunity and getting your children (or clients) to pose naturally and in the way that you are so good at doing now. Also, the photoshop side seems like a good idea too. I’d like to know more about how you process…to tell you the truth I love seeing your photoshop tutorial related posts, but I would find it nice to actually discuss the matter and get into more detail.
    Other than that, I think the actual “picture taking” part is what I’m more interested in learning
    about 🙂

  26. April 14, 2010 5:49 am

    Yes, I think you should teach 🙂

    You explain things very well imho, without overwhelming me with technical jargon which could have easily happened with seasoned photographers.

    I don’t think you will be taking advantage of people at all, as you have been so generous sharing your techniques with us.

    Personally I would be keen to learn how to shoot with RAW and learn more of how you process your photos in Photoshop.

    And on photography techniques — I would like to learn how you make use of the light, how you compose your shots, and how you get people to co-operate with you in your portraits.

    Too bad I live in another continent 😦 (UK)
    I would have so love to join your workshop. So I’ll be following your blog instead!

  27. April 14, 2010 8:41 pm

    I just want to reiterate everyone’s praises about your generosity RE: knowledge and sharing.

    As I just graduated and have been slowly trying to wiggle my way into the business end of photography, I can’t help but notice how many other photographers– even the older ones– seem to hoard their knowledge and techniques for fear of… What? A shrimpy 20-something that spends too much time on the computer? They remind me of the gulls from Finding Nemo, “MINE! MINE! MINE!”

    So, yeah, a workshop would be sweet and I’d definitely try and take time off work to make it out to that. I’ll start saving up now, LOL 🙂

    But at the same time, you already give back so much to your readers, you shouldn’t think for even a second that you’re taking advantage of anyone. If someone feels differently, they don’t have to participate and it’s as simple as that.

  28. eric permalink
    April 14, 2010 10:01 pm

    Hello Lauren, I’m a beginner and very interested in a photography oriented workshop. If you mix half photoshop, half photography, that would be fine by me too but I think I need to be a good photographer before become a good photoshop-er.

    Even though I’m a beginner, I believe a good picture is taken by a person, not by a camera. So, I’m very interested in photography tips and tricks. Anything that you think it’s good to know or pass on to others like me. colors, composition tips and tricks that you learn from your experience?

    Once I have good understanding of colors and etc, I think I can apply that knowledge to photoshop.

    Let us know if you decide to do it. I will definitely try to make it out to your workshop no matter what topics/subject your workshop will focus on. I would never think that it would be a wast of time! No way!

    love yours and cindy’s pics!

  29. April 15, 2010 10:32 am

    I would gladly take a workshop to learn about your work as a photographer and artist. I would love to learn about your use of light, shooting into it, flare, backlighting and also to learn about your amazing skill with composition and, lastly, your thoughts on post-processing. I often get my images just right as far as exposure and color and fear taking the leap into making my photos more artistic using actions/presets/textures, especially as far as knowing what’s just enough and what’s too much.

    Just my two cents. I live in the Bay Area, btw, and am eager to learn.

  30. Kimmy permalink
    April 16, 2010 7:22 am

    I would be very interested in a clinc taught by you! I live in the Bay Area (MV) and have been following your photostream for at least a year. My mother bought me a camera for Christmas 2008 (it’s a Fujifilm finepix S2550) and I would like to learn how to use it to its fullest. Right now, I’m operator-limited, not camera-limited. The camera’s owner’s manual does not come with instructions on how to take beautiful pictures or instructions on aperature and the like. You have a mastery of that and I would love to share even a fraction of that talent.

  31. April 19, 2010 5:05 pm

    I AM SOOOO IN!!! I love learning from you Lauren! I have been waiting for you to do this!

  32. April 24, 2010 3:22 pm

    Hi Lauren… Echoing the comments above, you have something that so many others here would love to be able to learn. To be able to even stand behind someone, like you, who’s a gold medal photoshop guru would be something of such value…I’d sign up as well and even make a trip from WI to CA.

    As far as what to learn, the 50/50 concept is a winner to me. Anything from lighting to best practices with lens/aperature choices. I tend to be overwhelmed at times w/what direction to go.

    And don’t fret w/the idea of selling what others are in demand to learn. You and Cindy have created a brand with your actions and presets and I believe this is a great progression to another direction.

  33. Moonsb permalink
    April 24, 2010 6:08 pm

    I am so jealous! Being stuck in Australia with you possibly giving lessons! Oh man! Perhaps you could do some lessons over the net with video tutorial involved for all us flickr fans that can’t make it! I would be willing to pay for those lessons too!

  34. Sarah permalink
    April 27, 2010 11:52 am

    YES! I would totally participate! I would love a half and half workshop. Your processing is astounding, but that wouldn’t be as great without the beautiful photos you take and the vision you have in mind. I’d love some time to learn about your processing techniques, and then go out and shoot with you with those techniques in mind. Or shooting, then going somewhere to get processing techniques. Either way. 😀

    Consider me a local, willing test subject! 🙂

  35. Veronica permalink
    June 25, 2010 9:38 am

    I’m from Italy so if you would do that on the internet it would be amazing and i would totally be a part of your class! 🙂
    I would love to learn about the use of natural light, and the composition :)) i’m crossing fingers!!

  36. abena permalink
    July 18, 2010 6:12 pm

    i think you should sooooo do it ! It would be such an honour to be thought by someone so talented 🙂 if you could do it on the internet i would appreciate it but of course , that decision is entirely up to you. thank you so much for considering amatures like me who would love to learn more about photography !
    ps. your flickr page is gorgeous 🙂

  37. simplesmentelila permalink
    August 14, 2010 11:43 am

    I would love to be part if is not toooo late!

Leave a Reply

