Skip to content

Question

February 19, 2010

Do you have one?

I was going to write out a post about photography but then thought it might be easier to answer specific questions ~ I never know where to start and I tend to just ramble πŸ™‚

So leave a comment with a question about photography or processing and I’ll see what I can do. Β Or email me if you know my email address. Β Or Flickrmail me, or Facebook mail me or…. Β πŸ™‚

(A tutorial on black and white conversions has been requested and I’m pondering how to write that).

36 Comments leave one →
  1. lesley permalink
    February 19, 2010 9:55 am

    I already enjoy your flickr stream and am learning a lot from your tutorials. Thank you for your generosity. I have experimented with your Portrait tutorial and enjoyed that a lot. I should love to see a similar breakdown of the steps you used for the gorgeous bleached-look close-up of Anne that is showing in your sidebar. For instance, did you use basically the same steps as in the tutorial but make difference decisions along the way, or were there whole other steps involved?

    • elycerose permalink*
      February 19, 2010 1:34 pm

      I’ll try to remember what I did and post about it πŸ™‚

  2. February 19, 2010 10:05 am

    Hi Lauren ! I love your blog, this really helps me! i will love to now more about composition and if you can something about indoor shots! i have a lot of problems with the light when i’m at home….i love how your shoots look inside a room even there isn’t alot of light!!
    Thanks so much!
    Bye!!
    Sandra

    • elycerose permalink*
      February 20, 2010 7:03 am

      I will try to figure out how to answer this….

  3. Miriam permalink
    February 19, 2010 12:13 pm

    I was wondering when the B&W tutorial was coming out? πŸ™‚ I do however have a photography question do you shoot in manual mode? and if so what is most important to remember when shooting this way and if you prefer another mode why do you prefer this other mode over manual?-Thanks in advance!

    • elycerose permalink*
      February 19, 2010 1:43 pm

      Hi Miriam ~ I almost always shoot in Aperture Priority mode. Aperture is generally the only thing I want to control and I find it much easier to worry about one setting than two. If I want to do something involving motion I’ll switch to Shutter Priority. I’ll use manual if it’s a really wacky lighting situation, like back-lighting or something, but for me AP works in 99% of the situations.

  4. February 19, 2010 1:21 pm

    Hello Lauren,

    I hope you would take time to write some tutorials about cinematic toning.
    Some examples are:

    and green tones like http://www.flickr.com/photos/skinnykidrobot/sets/72157605715552820/

  5. Kristy permalink
    February 19, 2010 3:27 pm

    Hi Lauren,

    My question to you is how do you get such beautiful lighting in your photos. I always use natural light and my house is extremely bright…I shoot in RAW, and in AP…but the light isn’t quite right. The light you get in your shots seems so pure and white…any secrets to that?

  6. mick permalink
    February 19, 2010 7:46 pm

    Thanks for the many insights into photography and photoshop, as well as your stunning photography Lauren.
    I would appreciate your opinion on colourspace, both in your nikon (standard vs neutral and adobe vs rgb) and photoshop. And any tips you could provide for printing (my personal nemesis) would be godsend.

    • elycerose permalink*
      February 20, 2010 7:12 am

      I detest colorspace. Hate with a capital H.

      My Nikon is set to Adobe RGB and I leave it on Standard because I shoot RAW and those settings aren’t saved (I talked elsewhere about Nikon Capture NX recognizing them for RAW, but not ACR).

      Everything else (ACR, Photoshop) I have set to sRGB.

      I originally did everything in Adobe RGB because it’s supposed to have a larger color gamut, and then I would save a copy converted to sRGB to load to the web (because some browsers don’t recognize color profiles).

      I’m about to just switch completely (change in my camera) to sRGB because I don’t really see any difference between the two profiles and it seems smart to just have everything done in one space.

      I can’t really talk about printing because I gave up doing it at home because it drove me insane and now I use online printers and things come out just like I want.

      • mick permalink
        February 20, 2010 4:20 pm

        Thanks so much Lauren, now I don’t feel like I was missing an opportunity by just leaving my d300 on standard and shooting RAW. It was great to get your opinion on sRGB vs adobe, I had my camera and photoshop set to adobe and would then convert web images to sRGB, but left my printed shots in adobe RGB. I have been questioning whether this is worth the effort since I had to convert over 1000 images for use on digital frames before christmas. This may be the push I needed to change my workflow.
        As for printing, as much as it sometimes vexes me, I love giving prints to family and friends soon after shooting them, it always gets a big thank you and sometimes joyous tears.
        The time and knowledge you give to everyone is greatly appreciated, as photography brings such a positive energy to people.
        Thanks again,
        mick
        ps. I love the name of your blog

  7. Jacqui permalink
    February 20, 2010 4:17 am

    H Lauren πŸ™‚

    Any pointers on getting started with a lensbaby would be very much appreciated, I’m finding mine a bit daunting !! ( you make it look so easy !! )

    • elycerose permalink*
      February 20, 2010 7:39 am

      The lensbaby takes getting used to ~ I’ll try to think of some tips… Are you using the Composer?

  8. Jacqui permalink
    February 20, 2010 4:18 am

    I meant Hi not H……………

  9. minhapequenagaleria permalink
    February 20, 2010 5:42 am

    Hi Lauren,

    I have a question! You’ve posted a photo on your flickr a few months ago, (it’s beautiful, by the way), and it has a very special processing. I’d love to know how you did that! Oops… I’ve just seen it’s an action someone gave you. If you could just answer about the grainy effect… (http://www.flickr.com/photos/laurenrosenbaum/4129311235/)

    I have one more, again, about the grain. It has such a delicate grain! http://www.flickr.com/photos/laurenrosenbaum/3097435952/in/set-72157594461939668/

    thanks,
    Julia

    • elycerose permalink*
      February 20, 2010 7:37 am

      Hi Julia,

      That first picture you linked to was done with an action that a friend made me and I’ll ask him if it’s okay to reveal his secrets πŸ™‚

      The second I did by making a duplicate copy of the picture and then going to Filter, Artistic, Film Grain and adding it that way.

  10. zoha permalink
    February 20, 2010 8:26 am

    first of all i must have thank you for your helpful blog,
    second sorry for my bad english..
    i have a problem and it is i cant open my raw files(.NEF) in CS4!!
    did i have install any plugin or something like that in CS4? if yes,where can i found it?

    • elycerose permalink*
      February 20, 2010 8:46 am

      If you have a very new camera you’ll probably need to update your version of ACR ~ you should go to Adobe’s site and make sure everything’s up to date.

  11. Jacqui permalink
    February 20, 2010 10:56 am

    Thanks πŸ™‚ Yes it is a composer πŸ™‚

  12. February 22, 2010 1:00 pm

    For those of us who can’t get a lensbaby composer but desperately love the tilt shift effect, would you be able to do a tutorial on how to fake it? πŸ™‚

    • elycerose permalink*
      February 22, 2010 6:38 pm

      I’ve played around with it a few times but never really came up with anything I liked a lot. Sometimes if you make a duplicate layer and then go up to Filter, Blur, Radial Blur and set it to zoom and somewhere less than 10 it sort of looks okay (you can attach a layer mask and paint back part you want in focus).

  13. Karen permalink
    February 27, 2010 8:45 pm

    I was wondering if you could give suggestions or recipes for processing brilliant color but not on skin tones? Examples of some of your photos that I liked:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/laurenrosenbaum/4310861310/in/photostream/ In this one I like how pale her face is without the color in the clothes being muted.

    • elycerose permalink*
      March 1, 2010 9:15 am

      In the last two examples I used this method to process. In that first one I used my “shallot” action, which I haven’t written about but it’s very similar to the method I linked to, but on top of it I added a hue/saturation adjustment layer and bumped the saturation up about +20 on each of the colors except red.

      • Karen permalink
        March 1, 2010 9:20 pm

        Thank you for your help. I havc a question about the hue/saturation layer: I used the black/white circle and adjusted each color but this meant I had to make five layers. Is this what you do or is there a way to adjust them in one layer?
        Your blog is SO helpful; I have really learned alot from your posts!

        • elycerose permalink*
          March 1, 2010 9:52 pm

          If you click the drop down next to where it says master it has each of the colors listed and you can go to each of the individual colors and adjust them, all on the same adjustment layer.

          • Karen permalink
            March 2, 2010 9:14 am

            Thank you! I did do that, but I thought I had to do each separately. It is very kind of you to be so helpful, answering all these questions.

  14. lizbeth permalink
    February 27, 2010 9:51 pm

    Hi,
    Firstly I just want to say I love your work, and thank you for your tutorials πŸ™‚

    You mentioned you use online stores to print your photos. Who do you use? I have been meaning to find somewhere for a while now and would prefer a recommendation!!

    Thanks πŸ™‚

    • elycerose permalink*
      March 1, 2010 9:10 am

      I’ve used mpix.com, whcc.com, bayphoto.com, and photoworkssf.com. All do a great job.

  15. Karen permalink
    March 1, 2010 9:48 pm

    If I could make another request… how do you get such lovely, lovely textures in your photos? They have such a delicate quality, and not too altered from the original photo.
    (waiting)

    • elycerose permalink*
      March 1, 2010 9:56 pm

      I will do a post about textures soon!

  16. Mauricio11 permalink
    March 2, 2010 7:48 am

    Hi, Lauren, greetings from Brazil.

    My questions is related to your kids. How do you make them to do so lovely posing? They seem to be professional models. Every time I am (trying to) shooting my daughter, she *never* cooperates. Is there a secret word? or spell? Share, please! My daughter is 3 y old, btw.

    Thank you. I’m a great fan of your style.
    Rgs.
    Mauricio

    • elycerose permalink*
      March 3, 2010 12:35 pm

      I don’t really have great advice. I don’t try to do a ton of posing and what I tell them most is not to smile, lol. I generally just keep shooting, even in the in-between times and something generally turns out.

      • April 22, 2010 7:04 pm

        oops, just saw this reply πŸ˜‰ thanks for the info!

  17. April 22, 2010 6:59 pm

    Hi Lauren,
    I too would love to learn a little about how you direct your girls when you photograph them. And how do you keep them from growing tired of the camera. I’d love to get a behind-the-scenes look into your photoshoots πŸ˜‰
    Thanks so much!!
    Jill

  18. Karen permalink
    May 18, 2010 9:47 pm

    I was wondering if you could do a photoshop tutorial about how you did this photo:
    Shan
    If possible?? I know you have a long list of requests…
    Thank you

    • elycerose permalink*
      May 19, 2010 7:50 am

      Karen ~ that was something I did at the OneLight class. I’ll try to find a link to the tutorial for it.

Leave a Reply

