Skip to content

How I Process II

February 19, 2010

Someone asked how I processed a recent picture so here it is….

Above is unprocessed.

This is how it looked after I was finished with it in ACR ~ below is how I adjusted the settings:

And after photoshopping.

Layer 1 & 2) I added a punch & drama layer, as outlined in this post, with the punch layer at 100% opacity and the drama layer at 43% opacity.

I did this to add contrast and desaturate

Layer 3) is a Hue/Saturation layer where I took the yellow saturation down to -40

I originally did this to try and get rid of the greenish/yellowish area around her hair on the right (which I was going to mask with a layer mask) but then I liked the overall effect

Layer 4) is a black to white gradient map layer with the opacity taken down to 19%

More desaturation (I love to desaturate :))

Layer 5) is a blue Color Fill layer, set to Exclusion and taken down to 19%, which I talked about here

To add a bit of toning

In the original that I posted to Flickr I did some stuff to make it look more like a painting, but I’m still trying to figure that part out so I’m going to leave that part until I get better at it.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jacqui permalink
    February 20, 2010 4:21 am

    Very helpful, thankyou !! Yesterdays shots may not be a total loss now I know how to process them !

  2. Kristy permalink
    February 20, 2010 5:35 am

    That answers my question too 🙂 Thanks!

  3. Ken Robinson permalink
    February 20, 2010 6:00 am

    Amazing transformation! Thanks for also telling us why you did what you did.

  4. lesley permalink
    February 20, 2010 10:17 am

    Lauren! Have just seen this. Thank you so, so much. Won’t have a chance to get to grips with it properly until next week but then, watch me go! You’re a star.

  5. *Olivier permalink
    February 20, 2010 11:07 am

    Exquisite and so enriching … Great job again Lauren …

    But a think i cant’t figure out …. My own attemps with Blue color fill and Exclusion mode often let the picture turn to something like yellow in highlights and midtones, and brown and orange in shadows … So, the effect have to be turned down to around 5 %. Something you noticed on some of yours ? It may comes from the blue i’m using for that (63/78/124). Any idea ?

    And a great WE to you and the whole family …

    • elycerose permalink*
      February 20, 2010 1:18 pm

      Olivier ~ yes, you have to play around with the blue. I’ve found that darker blues, with less grey (for example ~ 8/19/54) tend to work well but it really depends on the picture.

      And a great weekend to you and yours as well 🙂

  6. February 20, 2010 11:19 am

    This is a great tutorial!
    Question: you can’t adjust white balance in JPG right?
    Thanks!

    • elycerose permalink*
      February 20, 2010 1:13 pm

      Sandra ~ you can open a jpeg in ACR (at least you can in CS3 & 4) and play with the white balance a bit, but it doesn’t work as well.

  7. Laura permalink
    February 22, 2010 1:41 pm

    Thank you so much for your awesome tutorials. I have read each one and will be checking back frequently. You write them on a level for even me to understand. Thank you so much for sharing your time & talent!

  8. Martin permalink
    February 28, 2010 3:32 pm

    I found this from the Photoshop Support Group on flickr and was really pleased to come here. Thanks for the descriptions on how you do your work. I tried some of your tips on one of my .nef files and I’m starting to see really pleasing results. Thanks!

  9. March 19, 2010 2:07 am

    thanks
    🙂

Leave a Reply

